Welcome to the Matt Ruff website

Author photo 2019

author photo © 2019 by Lisa Gold

I am the author of the novels Fool on The Hill (1988),  Sewer, Gas & Electric: The Public Works Trilogy (1997), Set This House in Order: A Romance of Souls (2003),  Bad Monkeys (2007), The Mirage (2012), Lovecraft Country (2016), and 88 Names (2020).

My next novel, The Destroyer of Worlds: A Return to Lovecraft Country, will be published by HarperCollins on February 21, 2023.

If you haven’t read the original Lovecraft Country yet, you can learn more about it here, and in posts tagged “Lovecraft Country” on my blog. You can also download a preview by clicking on this link. A reader’s guide to Lovecraft Country is available here, and links to some related interviews and Q&As can be found here. Info about the HBO series based on the novel can be found here.

The contact page has information on how to get signed copies of my books.

A schedule of my upcoming public appearances can be found here.